Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

What is currently wrong with the end game

During the last few weeks I realized that I no longer have fun with PoW and I'm stuck in some constant struggle with the game. This is new to me - PoW has always had bad an annoying sides but the part which made me keep playing (and even spending some money on the game, which I have never done before on a MMO and will probably never do on another game of this kind) greatly overpowered the flaws. This is no longer the case, it looks like I've reached a point where I'm playing mechanically, following some habit that developed for more than two years with PoW, than to actually enjoy the experience. Many, if not all of the reasons for this are related to the end game and many of them have already been mentioned by other people in other threads. You may agree or disagree with them but either way, that's my stance on the matter:

1. The general hostility of the Blood Gods bracket toward gladiators who are not already there for a long time is a major problem. In all honesty the end game of PoW has never been fair but now this is especially pronounced. A gladiator ascending from Primus doesn't face challenges but nearly impossible fights which become his/her everyday life for months ahead. The Conquests partially rectified the issue with the ridiculously slow gearing speed but didn't resolve it for two main reasons - due to the randomness of the Conquest drops and due to the unavailability of orange weapons in that mode. With daily dungeon runs, your fighter will still need two months on the average to find adequate armour pieces. That is of course much better than the... about an year needed to gather similar equipment before the Conquests but it still renders your fighter a punchbag in the meantime. That's the (much) smaller problem however.